National Scrapbooking Day / Mother’s Day

6 May

This weekend, my friends and I at Scrapbook Challenges are celebrating National Scrapbook Day and Mother’s Day with this blog hop, paying tribute to our scrapbooking “mother” Pamela, who founded our site several years ago and has encouraged us and kept us motivated all along the way. As Pamela has stepped down, as our fearless leader, to focus on her family life, and Brynn is now behind the steering wheel, we’d like to take a moment to thank Pamela for all her hard work!

If you’re arriving here from Carmen’s blog, you’re in the right place! If you just popped in here first, hop on over to Brynn’s Blog to start at the beginning! You might ask yourself, “Why would I want to do that?!” Well, aside from gathering tons of inspiration along the way…

The prize for one lucky person who comments on all of the blogs in the line up is Chipboard Borders, 12×12 Collection Kit and a 6×6 Paper Pad from To The Moon by Fancy Pants! Loving the colors on this one!

Also, everyone who creates a new layout with one of Pamela’s old sketches and posts it in the HOP ON section of the forum will be in a drawing for a mystery prize pack of goodies from Tim Holtz! I like surprises!

One random winner from those who join Scrapbook Challenges this weekend will get the We R Memory Keepers’ Sew Easy Piercer, 4 Piercers, a mixed assortment of Divine Twine and 15 colors of DMC Embroidery Floss.And last but not least, everyone who leaves me some comment love on MY blog will be in the drawing for this cute little Mini Scrapbook Album with stickers by Colorbok!

And last but not least, everyone who leaves me some comment love on MY blog will be in the drawing for this cute little Mini Scrapbook Album with stickers by Colorbok!

Now for my contribution to the blog hop! I’ve been with Scrapbook Challenges for a looong time, like ever since they were a group on MySpace. When I first discovered them, they were on about sketch 40 or so. With a new one posted, by the lovely and very talented Pamela every week, and with us now approaching 253, I guess that means I’ve been around for about 4 years! (which is how old my son will be next week, so I guess that makes sense! haha) I started saving every sketch she posted so I’d have a collection to choose from. When we moved the site to ning.com, the old sketches weren’t as easily accessible anymore so I’m glad I saved them! So for my post I’m going with the very first one. Sketch number ONE!

So with our theme of hope, I put together this digi page to remind myself that God has great plans for us, even when we think the path is getting too difficult.

As some of you know, I am also on the Creative Team at Raspberry Road Designs, and so most of my digi pages these days come from the kits there. This one is called Feathered Nest. The photo is from morguefile.com because I don’t have any idea where I could find some cool old stairs around here to put in my LO and that’s just what I felt like it needed. Something steep and seemingly neverending because life just feels like that sometimes. Now I will admit, I made a goof when I was first signing up for this blog hop, and said that I couldn’t decide between Sketch #1 (for nostalgic reasons of it being the very first) and Sketch #2 (because I’ve actually used it before.)

So without posting my final decision, I made my Sketch 2 page first, only to discover that someone else had claimed it! My bad! So I switched it up a little and made it work with Sketch 1 as you saw above. But I figured, why keep it in hiding? I decided I’d go ahead and post it too! This is the one I posted on Raspberry Road Designs, to showcase their kit, because I am offering up the frame cluster as a freebie there, so be sure to go grab it!

The fun little trick I pulled on this one was using entire background pages shrunken down to serve as the tiles, instead of just cutting out pieces of the papers. They kept their pretty distressed edges that way. Anyway, that’s all I’ve got for you today, so now it’s time for you to hop on to your next stop…

Natalie’s Blog!

24 Responses to “National Scrapbooking Day / Mother’s Day”

  1. Tina Phillips May 6, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    I do digi sometimes as well…..and I really love that page and the photo you chose to scrap….b reathatking!!!

  2. Alyssa May 6, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    Wow, I love that photo and layout. So amazing!

  3. Jolanda Simons May 6, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    wow,Amanda,pretty work!!!!!

  4. Nicolle Kramer May 6, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    Gorgeous LO’s….and awesome take on the sketch…:)

  5. carmen henriquez May 6, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    I love your work, very creative Amanda!!!

  6. Pamela Young May 6, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    What beautiful work!!! All of it! 🙂 I so appreciate you! I remember you from myspace times (oh that seems so long ago)! thanks for sticking with us and for all the work you’ve done for SC.

  7. Alison McInnes May 6, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    A great pic to have chosen and I love the journalling!
    Alison xx

  8. Natalie May 6, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    Hahaha, trust us to be next to each other on teh list and have the same sketch!!
    Cool layouts, love the colours and the pink one is sooooo cute 🙂 🙂 🙂

    have a great weekend xox

  9. Jessica May 6, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    Love these pages. You made some great takes on these sketches. I especially love the bird details on the first one.

    • Annie May 6, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

      Beautiful layout. Love the stairs and the frames.

  10. Jasmine May 6, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    You picked a breath-taking photo for this wonderful layout. Fantastic job… just beautiful.
    Jasmine

  11. Deb May 6, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    Absolute stunner of a layout Amanda. Deb xox

  12. ekawati.indriani.p@gmail.com May 6, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    Breathtaking page! I got, “whoaaaa!” looking at your page. Love, love, love everything about it! Stunning amazing page!!!

  13. Renee J. May 6, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    Amanda, you do such beautiful work! Thank you for participating in this hop. It is very nice to meet you!

  14. Marilyn Rivera May 6, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    Beautiful pages!!! have a nice weekend and Happy Mother’s Day!

  15. Cheryl May 7, 2011 at 2:03 am #

    love this page Amanda – it’s so peaceful x

  16. mary ann santos May 7, 2011 at 4:25 am #

    i love the LOs you made..so vintage!

  17. ana May 7, 2011 at 7:01 am #

    those are both stunning pages.

  18. Chelsey May 7, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    All of your LO are beautiful!

  19. Sabrina May 8, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    Amanda, wow!! Your work is amazing!! I keep staring at your page!! Gorgeousness!! =)

  20. Yara May 8, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    Very pretty! Love the grid design! Have a nice weekend!

  21. Shelly Scott May 8, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    Oh Amanda! The photo and scripture you used on this layout are so beautiful.

  22. Rose Ann May 8, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    Awesome work, love your takes on the sketch!!

  23. Jackie May 8, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    Love the layout, such a beautiful picture!

Leave a Reply

