Scrapping Olympics

22 May

It sounds silly to the non-scrapper I’m sure, but we have been having a fun weekend on the Scrapbook Challenges site, with a fun little set of challenges just for us on the Design Team. I was the 3rd “runner” in a baton race for team b! I don’t know who the winners are yet, but I think my team did great!

 

Jolanda was given this inspiration sketch on Friday to scrap as fast as she could.

Then on Saturday the baton was passed when Jolanda’s play time layout was send to Jowlina!

So this morning I received Jowlina’s layout as inspiration for my page. I had no idea until it arrived that we would HAVE to do a paper layout. Until that point I had been planning on doing a digital page. This was no ordinary baton race either… it was the HURDLES! Sookie, who was the one who started this whole thing, had 5 hurdles for us to jump:

  1. Journal is a must!
  2. Spray some mist
  3. Use an altered chipboard on your layout. 
    Please don’t use a previously altered chipboard.
  4. Sorry, no digitals please 
  5. Must be 12×12

Boy what a challenge! I only have one scrapbook that has anyspace left for a 12×12, so trying to come up with a page that’d be relevant to my daughter’s first year was also a must. I only have one color of mist… orange. o_O And the only chipboard I have is an alpha with pink grid lines on it. With not very many photos laying around to choose from and only an hour and 15 minutes to work on it before church this morning, the adrenaline was raging full force. I can’t believe I got it done in time.


Orange mist on pink paper makes it less orange. 😉 A few scraps of corogated cardboard, some sanded and inked chipboard letters, and a few pieces of scrap paper cut into banners were the details that pulled it all together.

Both of my team mates did stitching around the circles, but with limited time and zero experience on that, I decided to go with some sketchy doodles instead. it’s more my style anyway. I’m certainly glad I had this picture of Nana because this will be the perfect page to go at the end of Carly’s book. 🙂

Among the other events we’ve had this weekend was the Gymnastics Challenge, to create a romantic-style page with flowers. So I went ahead and did the letter R page for my ABC’s of Me album:

And the Pentathalon, to create a page using 5 different techniques of our choice, for which I did Ghost Journaling, Recoloring, Mock Layering, Fussy Cutting, and Drow Shadowing:

Today’s event is Swimming, to use swirls and transparencies on a page, but I’m going to wait to do that until tonight since Jason’s getting on a plane to head to NJ for the week in a few hours. I’ll have lots of time to work on it after the kids are in bed I guess!

These great challenges and the prizes that come with them were made possible by some very generous sponsors: Nikki Sivils, The Paper Trail, Lawn Fawn and The Cutting Cafe. Maybe if I’m lucky, I’ll win one of the events and get one of the cool prize packages! 🙂

One Response to “Scrapping Olympics”

  1. kids toy April 10, 2015 at 1:13 am #

    I’d llike to thɑnk you for the efforts you’ve put in writing thіѕ site.

    I really hope tοo νiew tɦe same high-grade blog posts
    by ƴou later оn aѕ աell. In truth, yοur creative writing abilities Һas
    encouraged mе to get mʏ own, personal blog now
    😉

Leave a Reply

