Money Saving Adventures

15 Jun

I’ve always been a bargin shopper. Generic brands, clearance racks, and deep discount stores have been my friend. I dabbled half heartedly in coupons and price matching before, but after watching the Extreme Couponing show a few times I decided I wanted to learn more. I signed up for the email newsletters from moneysavingmom.com and I’ve gotten my coupons organized in a big binder, just like the pros. 😉

 Now I don’t spend crazy amounts of time on this like the 20-40 hours a week that some of the people on that show do… at most maybe 8 hours a week looking at ads, planning trips, clipping/printing coupons, and studying up on how to get better deals. I don’t spend any more time in the stores than I did before, maybe even less time since I usually have a very detailed list of what I’m there for now. 😉

Now that I’ve been doing things “extreme” for about a week or so, I’m starting to find my groove. I get SEVERAL food store circulars in my Wednesday edition of the briefing (free mini paper from the dallas newspaper, which also has the coupon inserts on saturday and sometimes sunday) I get ads for Albertsons, Tom Thumb, Kroger, Sprouts, Aldi, Terry’s, and Fiesta. I get another one from Market Street, but it’s just 1 page and usually still high on the prices so I don’t really count that one. 😉 I used to just look at the first 4 because I knew I’d never make a special trip to go all the way out to Aldi and I’d feel a little out of place shopping in the hispanic stores. However, now that I’ve started paying attention, I’ve discovered those 3 have some of the best prices on things that Wal-mart will match! Wal-mart will match one store’s generic for theirs, and they will match produce prices, aside from the obvious same brand price matches.

Here’s a little example from my shopping trip today of what I would have paid/price matched/ad it was from:

Milk – 2.38/1.89/Aldi
Pringles – 2.58 ea/.99 ea/Albertsons
       (-$1/2 coupon = .49 ea)
Seedless Watermelon – 3.88/1.99/Sprouts
Red Leaf Lettuce – 1.78/.88/Sprouts
5lb Potatoes – 2.17/.88/Terry’s
Canned Veggies – .68 ea/ .33 ea/ Terry’s
Onions – 1.68 lb/ .33 lb/Terry’s
Red Grapes – 1.98 lb/ .99 lb/Albertson’s
B&J Drinks – 3.47/3.33/Fiesta
18-ct Eggs – 2.46/.99/Fiesta
1lb Block Cheddar – 4.38/3.99/Sprouts
Sliced Cheese – 3.38/2.50/Tom Thumb
Red Bell Pepper – 1.64/.49/Fiesta

TOTAL:  49.39/28.49 (saved 20.90 – 42.3%)

Moral of the story? Check ALL of your adds, make a well organized list, go to wal-mart during non-peak hours, keep the cart organized by sales ad while you shop (as much as your two and four year old will allow at least) and warn the cashier/apologize in advance for all the price matching you’re about to do. 🙂 Don’t forget your coupons! 🙂

My next big task for this weekend is to try my hand at Freezer Cooking Day, where you make a bunch of meals at a time so you can freeze them and cut down on time in the kitchen for the rest of the month. We’ll see how that goes, but I plan to put away a lot of breakfast burritos, quiche, casseroles, and some baked potatoes. Fingers crossed!

2 Responses to “Money Saving Adventures”

  1. CB June 15, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    Wow, great job Amanda!!

  2. Sarah June 26, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    Neato. I have always been too scared to price match. Maybe I need to suck it up and do it.

Leave a Reply

